Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Senior Ryder Cup Qualifying - 2018

Senior Ryder Cup (SRC) is a two-man team gross match play competition against 3 other clubs in a division format. There are 100 clubs from Michigan, NW New York State and Ontario participating, with 16 clubs earning the honour to play in a Championship Day. Each club fields a team of 8 seniors (55+ as of May 15, 2018), two of whom must be Super Seniors (65+ as of May 15, 2018). Whitevale is participating for the 3rd time in 2017, in a division with Barcovan, Wolf Run and Baxter Creek Golf Clubs.

To qualify for the 2018 SRC team, participate in the 2-day Senior Club Championship on July 22 and 23, 2017. Super Seniors may play the white tees if they do not want to compete for the overall Senior Championship.

"C" members with a handicap of 6 or less are eligible to participate.

A team of about 15 will be registered as part of the Whitevale team, to ensure coverage for each event. 

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Mixed Haig Results

Congratulations goes out to the team of Debbie & Chris Couch who won today's Mixed Haig tournament with a net score of  60.4. We had a total of 20 teams who participated and many good scores posted throughout the day. Here are the top six teams who finished in the money:

1st - Debbie & Chris Couch (60.4) $80.00/each
2nd - Yvette Fulton & Gerry Lawrence (61.8) $70.00.each
3rd - Margaret & Rich Hart (62.6) $60.00/each
4th - Jodi & Mark Crerar (65.8) $45.00/each
5th - Julie & Art Pingree (66.2) $25.00/each
6th - Zona Pereira & Dave Myrvold (67.0) $20.00/each

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Cooper, Steven

Cooper, Steven - on Tuesday, June 19th, 2017 after a courageous battle with cancer. Steve, better known as "Scoop" will be missed by his family and many friends at the club. The family will receive their friends at McEachnie Funeral home - 28 Old Kingston Road, Ajax. The visitation will be held Friday June 23rd, from 2 - 4 pm and 7 - 9 pm. Service will be held Saturday June 24th at 11 am, in the chapel at McEachnie funeral home in Pickering Village.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Longest Day of Golf - Raffle Winners

We have a few unclaimed raffle prize winners from the Longest Day Raffle.

1. The Booze Basket and everyone's newest bestie!
Blue Ticket #982-2328

2. Water Bottle & East Side Mario Gift Certificate
Blue Ticket #983-9062

3. Peter Fine Dining Gift Cert & Picture Frame
Blue Ticket #983-8844

4. Silver Coin
Yellow Ticket #495-1786

All available for pick up in the office.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Play with the Pro

In an effort to have the professional staff get out and enjoy golf with the membership we have started a new program called "Play with the Pro". How the program works is if you would like to play with one of the pro's you visit the golf shop and let one of the staff know you would like to sign up. At that time you let them know which pro you would like to play with and a couple of days and times that would work best for you. The professional staff will be checking the sign up sheets every other day and contact the members involved once a day and time has been agreed upon. The staff who will be taking part in this are Ryan La Rose, Ray McCourquodale, Kevan Goble, Charlie Doherty and Brendon Allman. We look forward to getting out with a number of you over the next few months!

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Phantom Results

For an event that is based on quota points and nobody knows who counts on what hole it sure does make for an interesting format. This year we had 13 teams competing for the title and the winners at the end of the day was the team of Padraig Darby, Michael Berry, Chris O'Brien and Dan McPherson who finished with 100 points.

1st - Padraig Darby, Michael Berry, Chris O'Brien & Dan McPherson (100 pts.) $96.00/each
2nd - Mark Brewer, Steve Thompson, Barry Catterall & Dave Walker (95 pts.) $72.00/each
T-3rd - Wayne Carpenter, Will Harris, Jim McGilton & Ian Vaudry (91 pts.) $36.00/each
T-3rd - Donny O'Connell, Craig Ferns, Anthony Sgovio & Dan McConnachie (91 pts.) $36.00/each
T-5th - Art Pingree, Brian Guenther, Brandon Wieser & Peter Wieser (90 pts.)
T-5th - Ed Hogan, Heinz Dahn, Suzi Snow-Liska & John Eales (90 pts.)
7th - John Dimopoulos, Wade Jamieson, Jeff Maddeley & Stephen Speirs (87 pts.)
8th - Walt Lemon, Dave Leonard & Mike Raptopulos (85 pts.)
T-9th - Dave Myrvold, Pat Burrell, Jerry Kimber & Tom Kelly (84 pts.)
T-9th - Bryan Ramsey, Gerry Dineen, Bryce Percy & Derek Boate (84 pts.)
11th - Tim Charlton, Mary Charlton, Bill Fox & Don Pickthall (83 pts.)
T-12th - Elmar Moser, Art Belanger, Rod Roblin & Les Pereira (79 pts.)
T-12th - John Lyttle, Peter Lambrinos, Kim Blake & Dennis Matton (79 pts.)